Some Pictures from Henry Neil Murphy’s Youth

As the year draws to a close, the posts you’ll see here will be mostly based on old pictures.

My brother Mike last week passed along some old family pictures. Many of them I had never seen before.

Old Murphy Photos003Here’s a picture of my dad, Henry Neil Murphy (b. 1927 d. 1994), with his dad, Michael Henry Murphy (b. 1893 d. 1951). I’m guessing that dad is around 20 years old, so this would be around 1947. Note that they’re both smoking. My dad smoked a pipe for most of his life. I can only remember a couple of times seeing him smoke a cigarette. My grandfather was a lifelong smoker. My mother recalled that my grandfather smoked unfiltered cigarettes and had a permanent tobacco stain between the first two fingers of his right hand. My grandfather Murphy died just two months after my oldest brother, Brian, was born.

Old Murphy Photos002This next picture is from June 1945, probably dad’s high school graduation picture. He was 17. Dad graduated from Power Memorial Academy on West 61st Street in  New York. Some other alumni of Power Memorial: basketball hall of famer Lew Alcindor (a.k.a. Kareem Abdul Jabbar), late actor Bruno Kirby, former NHL hockey player Joe Mullen, and former NBA players Mario Elie and Chris Mullin.

It’s kind of funny reading about the athletes that attended Power Memorial. I don’t remember dad being much of an athlete, but then he was in his early forties when I was in my early teens, and he had a bad back by then.

Old Murphy Photos018Well, here’s a picture of dad at bat in a game of stickball. Kind of reinforces what I was saying about dad as an athlete, right? Maybe back then the normal stickball attire was slacks and a dress shirt?

This was probably taken in dad’s high school years. The family lived at 600 West 174th Street in 1940.

Stay tuned. I’ll share a few more pictures from dad’s youth in some upcoming blogs. and some from his days in the Navy.

This entry was posted in Murphy, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

